Staff

Gwilym Gibbons FRSA CMgr FCMI – Director
Gwilym’s career spans venue, festival and partnership management across public, private and community sectors (including: Destination Management Organisations, Economic Development Partnerships and Community Planning). He has experience or large-scale festival and commercial venue management with turnovers in excess of £3m. Self-educated while growing up in communes throughout the UK and after an experimental two years in school, he found his way into the arts through a youth arts’ project in Milton Keynes, beginning his career as a drama and circus workshop leader and street theatre performer. Gwilym has an MSc in Cultural Management and Policy from Queen Margaret University Edinburgh, he is a Chartered Fellow of the Chartered Management Institute and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts.
gwilym.gibbons@shetlandarts.org

Development

Kathy Hubbard – Head of Development
Kathy Hubbard has been working in the arts in Shetland for the past ten years, having come from a criminal justice background (she claims this has occasionally been very helpful in her arts career….). Kathy’s passion is film and cinema: she has been closely involved with the development of Mareel since 1996.
kathy.hubbard@shetlandarts.org

Donald Anderson – Arts Development Officer, Literature
Donald graduated in 1986 as an MA with Honours in English from the University of Aberdeen and since then has worked as a teacher of English, a warehouseman, and a relief social care worker before taking up his current post. As well as having a passion for reading and writing, Donald is also a song writer and musician.
donald.anderson@shetlandarts.org

John Haswell – Arts Development Officer, Drama
John trained in Wales and London and has worked as an actor and director since 1980. He came to Shetland in 1993 to direct a community production and has been here ever since. As well as offering practical support and advice in all aspects of drama, he directs youth theatre productions and is also responsible for dance development.
john.haswell@shetlandarts.org

Clair Aldington – Arts Development Officer, Visual Arts
Clair Aldington has an MA in Contemporary Arts and Music. She has worked as the Creative Arts Development Worker in Youth Justice (Oxfordshire and West Berkshire) alongside being a freelance artist delivering projects in schools, galleries, museums, women’s refuges and a prison. She has also worked for a Community Arts Centre (Oxford) as the exhibitions and project co-ordinator.
clair.aldington@shetlandarts.org

Hazel Hughson – Arts Development Officer, Craft
Hazel studied art at Edinburgh College of Art, specialising in textiles as applied art and jewellery design. Self-employed for 25 years she designed knitted textiles for export, worked freelance in marketing and design technology for industry and became involved in textile research. She is a Specialist Advisor for the Scottish Arts Council.
hazel.hughson@shetlandarts.org

Bryan Peterson – Arts Development Officer, Music
Born and brought up in Shetland, Bryan has been involved in the Scottish music scene as a musician, sound engineer and promoter since a young age. His work background includes mechanical engineering, construction, music education, web design and media with qualifications including an Advanced Diploma in Music Business Management, a BA (Hons) in Commercial Music and a Post Graduate Diploma in Web Development.
bryan.peterson@shetlandarts.org

Jane Matthews - Exhibitions Officer
Jane studied Fine Art at Oxford University and Art History at The Courtauld Institute in London. She worked for eight years in the TV and film industry as a Scenic Artist before moving to a small island off the west coast of Wales – about which she wrote a book. She joined Shetland Arts in 2007.
jane.matthews@shetlandarts.org

Operations

Holly Burford – Head of Operations
holly.burford@shetlandarts.org

Amy Jenner – Front of House Manager
Amy Jenner studied Drama and Creative Writing BA (hons) at Kingston University. She worked in Richmond Theatre, London as Assistant Box Office Manager  before moving  to Shetland in 2007. Amy started working for Shetland Arts in 2008 as a part time events assistant and is delighted to now be working as the Front of House Manager.
amy.jenner@shetlandarts.org

Iain Waddell – Production Manager
Iain joined Shetland Arts from Glasgow and has extensive experience of live touring, sound recording and digital networking. His knowledge of the needs of incoming acts and his well established contacts with the live music industry are a great asset to the organisation. He leads our technical team and plays a key role making the final decisions on purchasing and maintaining equipment.
iain.waddell@shetlandarts.org

Keith Morrison – Senior Technician (Lighting)
Keith began his theatre career as a lighting volunteer at the Garrison Theatre in 1991, before progressing to technician and then senior technician in 2001 for the Islesburgh Trust. Following his transfer to Shetland Arts, Keith became Events & Venues Assistant (Production) in 2008, dealing with all technical requirements throughout the organisation.
keith.morrison@shetlandarts.org

Jonathan Ritch – Senior Techician (Sound)
jonathan.ritch@shetlandarts.org

Gary Smith – Production Assistant
gary.smith3@shetlandarts.org

Lynda Anderson – Programming Coordinator
lynda.anderson@shetlandarts.org

Charlotte Beattie – Duty Manager – Front of House (Cafe Bar)
charlotte.beattie@shetlandarts.org

Kyle Smith – Duty Manager – Front of House (Box Office)
kylesmith@shetlandarts.org

Alex Wright - Duty Manager – Front of House (Cafe Bar)
alex.wright@shetlandarts.org

Finance

Sheila Duncan – Head of Finance & Admin
sheila.duncan@shetlandarts.org

Christine Simpson – Finance Officer
christine.simpson@shetlandarts.org

Irene Sandison – Finance Assistant
irene.sandison@shetlandarts.org

Angela Sinclair – Finance Assistant
angela.sinclair@shetlandarts.org

Bonhoga Gallery

Angela Smith – Duty Manager Bonhoga Gallery
angela.t.smith@shetlandarts.org

Diane Sinclair – Gallery Assistant, Bonhoga
diane.malcolmson@shetlandarts.org

Kristi Tait – Gallery Assistant, Bonhoga 
kristi.tait@shetlandarts.org

Chloe Tallack – Gallery Assistant, Bonhoga
chloe.tallack@shetlandarts.org

Education

Fraser Mouat – Music Lecturer
fraser.mouat@shetlandarts.org

Administration

Glenda Irvine – Office Administrator
glenda.irvine@shetlandarts.org

Helen Smith – Administrative Assistant
helen.smith@shetlandarts.org

Marketing

Lisa Ward – Marketing Officer
Lisa has a professional background in media, marketing and communications. She graduated from Strathclyde University in 2009 with a 1st class BA (Hons) in English and Linguistics. She also won the Meston Prize for Oustanding Academic Achievement. She is Shetland Arts first Marketing Officer and works closely with Jono Sandilands, our Graphic Designer, forming a strong creative team. Together they lead the communication and promotion of our organisation, venues and events and activities.
lisa.ward@shetlandarts.org

Jono Sandilands – Graphic Designer
Jono Sandilands graduated in 2009 from Grays School of Art, Aberdeen in BDes (Hons) Graphic Design. His degree work was purchased as part of the Robert Gordon University Art and Heritage Collections and also won commendation in the YCN national student awards. Jono also works as a freelance designer and artist on several different, long term projects including Co:Lab and The Art of Ping Pong. Jono works closely with Lisa Ward, our Marketing Officer, forming a strong creative team. Together they lead the communication and promotion of our organisation, venues and events and activities.
jono.sandilands@shetlandarts.org

Adam Jones – Graphic Designer
adam.jones@shetlandarts.org

Part-time & Volunteers

Shetland Arts also employ a range of part-time staff in all its venues: Bonhoga Gallery, Mill Cafe and the Garrison Theatre. We also enjoy the support and involvement of a team of active volunteers who make a vital contribution to what we do. Our current volunteers who make a weekly committement of time for which we are hugely grateful are:

David Eva – Admin Volunteer
david.eva@shetlandarts.org

Kimberly Patterson – Admin Volunteer
kimberly.patterson@shetlandarts.org

Be Sociable, Share!